Solomon’s Thumbs Up

King Solomon

I was cruising home just a little while ago (my car is in the shop, so was toodling around in my hubby’s ancient Camry, rides like a powerful luxury car compared to mine–great fun!) and in front of me was a red pickup. I noticed the license plate said something, but I couldn’t make it out. At first I thought it said “SLOWDOWN”, but as I got closer, that wasn’t quite it. Then I thought is said “SOLD” something or other, no that wasn’t it, so I got even closer. It said “SOLOMON”. Hmmm…got me thinking…Solomon, is that the Bible guy who had his hair cut and lost his strength?…no, that’s not him. Oh, yeah, it was the son of King David who became king and sought wisdom. (Wisdom: The ability to discern or judge what is true, right, or lasting; insight.)

Reminded me of a prayer I often prayed as a youth–“Please give me wisdom, God, please!” That was Solomon’s prayer (more or less) and Solomon got wisdom, no I don’t think he ‘got milk’–he got wisdom, big difference (sorry dairy lovers). He wrote Ecclesiastes and Proverbs (I believe) and left us with lots of good stuff, worth reading, especially in this day and age…(blog on the Boomers to come, can’t wait!)

The reason I started praying that prayer was due to living with the consequences of poor decisions that people in my family were making (ok, it was my ‘rents’…[‘parents’, if you are scratching your head]). I was swimming in every way imaginable with nasty consequences and a lot of pain and didn’t want to inflict as much on anyone else in the future. I figured living well must be worth it (and ‘other’ than I was experiencing) and I wanted the wisdom to know how to pull it off. So, I started praying and reading Proverbs. We weren’t going to church as that whole scene was messy, messy due to my family’s situation–I knew my church couldn’t help me on this one, I knew that God was my only shot, oh, and reading Proverbs, seemed right at the time.

So, back to Solomon, I don’t know a lot about him other than his writing, his reputation for being the wisest of the wise, oh and he got to build Solomon’s Temple (that must have been a blast!). I’m sitting here wondering why the license plate??? hmmm….

Well, the only thing that keeps coming to me is ‘wisdom’. I’m thinking we’re all short on it (look at our society–I guess this is a no brainer statement). It says in places in the Bible that the “Fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom”. So, I guess I’m back to the whole seek God first and “all these things shall be added unto you” thing. Make God the focus, ask for what is desired and wait and watch.

Slip not into the vagaries of the day (‘all is vanity’, says Solomon in Ecclesiastes), save children (and others I influence) from painful consequences and poor examples. Model something different than what they see everywhere else…give them hope by how life is lived, and impart to them the ‘whys’ of that living. It is not about rules, but about living life beautifully before God and being a breath of Life to others.

Dare to go higher: James 1:5 “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.” James 3:17 “But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.”

Thanks for visiting. I know not who you are, but am grateful for your interest and I do pray He blesses you this day and for always…oh, and as you seek, may He grant you wisdom with abundance.

I’ll bet Solomon is watching us, ready to give a thumbs up! :-)

Categories God

Leave a Reply

