A New America

Obama & Biden

This is a hard blog to write, a very difficult thing for me to force myself to put into words. I realize the world is rejoicing and at least half of Americans are overjoyed at the news of a Democratic president and congress. I really don’t want to squelch any joy or be a nay sayer and I really shouldn’t be saying a thing, as I didn’t vote yesterday. I couldn’t vote, I could see both platforms and the pros and cons thereof and really couldn’t imagine which was the better path. It all seemed like the same old, same old stuff, with a different face on it and none of it flowed from a God centered place…all nationalism, hope in our nation, not God. I did realize that whatever America chose would be a reflection of where America is spiritually, so I sat back and watched the returns last night…I sat on the outside (even though I live here) and observed.

Fumbling out of bed this a.m. I bee-lined it to the coffee pot and, accompanying my usual morning saunter to sip coffee and spend time with Rich (my husband), was the voice of President elect Barack Obama giving his victory speech–Rich had it playing out of his computer. I heard bits and pieces and boy, he is an amazing orator and really knows how to instill hope. Rich noted that the democrats won the majority in the congress as well as winning the presidential election–“better hold on to your wallet” was his light-hearted quip of the morning.

After my husband and daughter left, I prayed. I sat before God and, after awhile, I asked Him for a word for the blog–asked Him what to blog about. I heard Him tell me to open the Bible on the table in front of me, which I did and the first words my eyes fell on were these: “Like a roaring lion or a charging bear is a wicked man ruling over a helpless people.” (Proverbs 28:15) My jaw dropped and I sat there trying to hear what the message was in this (besides the obvious interpretation). I heard Him say turn to Jeremiah, I whined and said, “Not Jeremiah, he’s so doom and gloom…c’mon God can’t you do better? Like give me the verses in the New Testament that talk about praying for our leaders, or that note that in Christ all boundaries of race and gender are removed, all are one. Give me something more warm and fuzzy, something safer than Jeremiah!” No, He wanted Jeremiah, so I flipped and the first page I flipped to and the first words my eyes fell on were these: “Perhaps when the people of Judah hear about every disaster I plan to inflict on them, each of them will turn from his wicked way; then I will forgive their wickedness and their sin.” (Jeremiah 36:3)

It all came together, see if you agree: ‘helpless people’ found in Proverbs are those who are weak. Weak people, spiritually speaking, are immoral people–we cannot be strong in Christ if we are living in sin, we can only be subject to demonic attack and control. The Ten Commandments are for our protection, spiritually speaking. When we toss them aside, we leave ourselves vulnerable, vulnerable to predators, vulnerable to corrupt leaders, vulnerable to being used by others for their purposes. We invite our own demise.

If we don’t take responsibility for our own stance before God, and, instead rely on other systems or leaders for our nourishment, then we will live with the consequences of where our hearts are. If we don’t turn from sin and receive the strength and protection that comes with living morally, we will become easy prey for those who seek our destruction.

Time will tell how things shake out, and I hope and pray to God that the Proverbs passage is all hog wash regarding our country–that verse does not create a pretty picture at all, and the last thing I want to do is sound like I’m demonizing Obama or any of the other leaders of our country. I’m not, I’m just giving you what was given me and I’m no more ecstatic to hear it than you are. In fact I wept this morning, begging for mercy for this great democratic experiment we call The United States of America. It does seem obvious, though, that God is calling us to repent and turn to Him. Become strong so that we can see clearly and be used mightily for His purposes…once again.

Some of you may be noting that this blog is all Old Testament material–you’re right, no Jesus in sight. Jesus did pop in during my Bible passage flipping. As I was turning to Jeremiah I went too far and these words of Jesus’ hit me square: “If anyone wants to be first, he must be the very last, and the servant of all.” (Mark 9:25) Yes, humility is key…thank you, Jesus, for chiming in.

A new America is possible, if we turn in humility and repent. Otherwise…we’re fodder for any and everyone, especially our leaders, who can easily feed off our weakness.

Leave a Reply

