Advent and Song

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=caroling&iid=74963″ src=”0071/351b76c3-e44c-45a0-8bab-6f439ed5fc64.jpg?adImageId=8381253&imageId=74963″ width=”234″ height=”156″ /]Well, the seven day migraine marathon did eventually lift.  I’m so grateful and even a wee bit giddy.  If you prayed for me, thank YOU!

This week of Advent contains scads of music.  Even though Emily (our high school senior) had a smashing jazz concert Monday night, vocal music is getting most of the billing…Sunday, Rich (my husband) sang in the church choir; Charlie (our Boston U. son) sang Lessons and Carols with BU’s Marsh Chapel Choir (which we snuck out of church early to listen to live online); and Dad sang in his church’s Christmas cantata (nice job Dad!); Tuesday eve a couple of girlfriends and I went to an Advent-themed Taize worship service at the Basilica of St Mary; tonight I’m going caroling with our church’s youth group; tomorrow Emily sings in the high school choir concert.  Voices ring out this time of year.  As daylight continues to shorten and darkness claims more of the day, we sing.

Why? I wonder…could singing be a means of penetrating the darkness?  Like flipping on a light, does life-giving music send spiritually dark entities scurrying to shadowy corners?  Are spirits lifted as words take on melody? Is Christ more readily apparent when vocal chords resonate in sacred song?

Whatever its purpose, whatever the effect, I’m going to crank up Christian Christmas tunes and hark with the angels:
 “Glory to the new born king! 
Peace on earth and mercy mild
God and sinners reconciled.”

PS to hear Marsh Chapel’s Lessons and Carols via podcast, visit http://www.bu.edu/av/chapel/podcasts/sundayservices/MarshChapel121309.mp3.  It is awesome!  Oh, and if you hear a first tenor singing with a Minnes-oh-ta accent, that would be Charlie :)

3 thoughts on “Advent and Song

  1. This is kind of unrelated but your comparison of night and singing reminded me of it, not to mention we just studied it in bible study tonight.
    Psalm 42:8 By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me—a prayer to the God of my life.

    Like

  2. Mary Beth, thanks for the stop and comment. I too have been to Taize (3-4 yrs ago now). It was a mountain-top experience I’ll never forget and will always cherish. I’m interested to read your blog and hear about your experience and journey thereafter…

    Jason, thanks for the AMAZING insight! Wow! This is SO cool, I totally love the fact that on some level my blog post echoes a verse in Psalms…I never would have made that connection. “His song is with me”…how beautiful, how appropriate for Advent… Oh, and say, if you’re in town tonight Em sings a solo, a duet and plays flute during one of the choral pieces (as well as sings in the choir). Come if you can: 6p or 7:30p are the concert times. Safe travels home, my friend…see you soon :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

