Folded Through the Sixth Dimension

A few months ago I was running late to pick up a new friend for a dinner outing.  Almost 20 minutes tardy–yep, I was kicking myself.  As luck  poor planning would have it, I didn’t have her cell number, so couldn’t contact her.  Anxiously I wondered:
 
“Will she wait for me?” 

“Will this hurt our fledgling friendship?” 

Disturbed and embarrassed I drove as fast as the speed limit would allow–being stopped for speeding makes one very, very late, I’ve discovered the hard way.  Not worth the risk, I almost always figure–while devising a selection of apologies to choose from for the next time I spoke with her, which, I was beginning to believe, wouldn’t be over dinner that evening. 

At one point, I asked God for some help, for a space/time warpy thing…just in case He had interest.  Then, I kept on conjuring apologies in my head…none of which were satisfactory–I totally botched this one and I knew it.   

The country road I traveled I know like the back of my hand: I’m well acquainted with the rolling cornfields that hug its sides, its country road crossroads, how long it takes to travel, and the occasional home-based businesses that dot its soft shoulders.  Along I went, anticipating the next landmark, yet fully aware that it would only highlight in my mind how late I was running.  Did I mention I was bugged at my poor time management?  

Coming over the top of a hill, I saw a stop sign.  Must be the County Road 92 four-way stop, I figured, the only stop sign before arriving in the town of my destination.  It wasn’t, though, it was the stop sign just inside the town I was headed to.  Startled, I wondered if I’d totally blown through the 92 stop sign without realizing it.  With that thought churning my innards, I looked at the clock–I was five minutes ahead of time.  I couldn’t believe it.  I figured I miscalculated the time, but then I couldn’t dismiss missing the stop sign…it all pointed to a miracle.  

Even though I was a full 13 minutes late, she was just coming out as I was pulling in…she too was late.  We arrived at the same moment, and I mean the same moment.  It was uncanny. I took it to mean that God gives the nod to this new friendship–something I’d been asking for clarity on.  Thank you, Father!  

I’ve not known how to make sense of this miracle–miracles often carry meaning, but rarely make sense, so I often don’t try.  But yesterday Charlie–our Boston U. son home for spring break–broke out his laptop and played for my husband and I a video on string theory…  

Video: unless you’re Bulgarian ignore the Bulgarian subtitles.  Save the pop up boxes of explanation  for another viewing–unless you’re a speed reader.  Cool theory…I wonder what God thinks of it…
 
 Vodpod videos no longer available.
(unable to view?  visit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjsgoXvnStY)

As I watched, I could feel my brain straining and struggling like a fisherman pulling in a net.  Sliding around on a slippery deck, the mass in my head heave hoed as I  tried to capture what my eyes and ears were taking in about this scientific theory of everything, this ten dimensional worldview–you got it…I totally suck at math and science.  

Afterward, I mentioned my story and wondered aloud how it might fit into the theory…

Poof!!!  A volcano of skepticism erupted!
 “That’s impossible!” 

“You miscalculated the time!”
 

“You spaced out while driving!”

“There is no way that happened!” 
Swimming in this hot sea of “that can’t be” lava I was unable to get an answer, so I cooled the discussion by rephrasing the question to: “If something like this were to happen, how would it fit into the theory?”  

Charlie unpacked it for me: according to the theory I folded through the sixth dimension into the fifth dimension to where I would have been had I left five minutes earlier.  I asked how it was that I folded through to the exact time that she was exiting the building.  “God did that for you” he said.  

Of course, God did it all…  All I did was pray for help. 

Some of you may wonder if I’m loopy or delusional or miracle-happy.  Okay by me.  

Some of you may wonder if there is biblical evidence of something like this.  There are probably other instances recorded, but here is what comes to mind:  

When they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord suddenly took Philip away, and the eunuch did not see him again, but went on his way rejoicing. Philip, however, appeared at Azotus and traveled about, preaching the gospel in all the towns until he reached Caesarea.  Acts 8:39-40  

Maybe the only limits on God are those in our minds…
Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. (Ephesians 3: 20-21, emphasis added)   

Leave a Reply

