I Desire to Lie Down

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=child+pray&iid=5120013″ src=”8/0/5/0/child_with_hands_3f37.jpg?adImageId=12107225&imageId=5120013″ width=”234″ height=”351″ /]A bedtime prayer I taught our kids when they were little came to me today, this Easter Sunday.  Published in 1777 in The New England Primer it goes like this:

O Lord God, who knowest all things, Thou seest me by night as well as by day.  I pray Thee for Christ’s sake, forgive me whatsoever I have done amiss this day, and keep me all this night while I am asleep.  I desire to lie down under Thy care, and to abide forever under Thy blessing, for Thou art a God of all power and everlasting mercy.  Amen.

Sometimes memorized prayer is the only prayer we can muster:  reciting helps focus the mind, allows us to pray when we can’t and lets the life-giving words of another speak for us.  Our deepest desires find words, God’s attributes remembered.

I desire to lie down…

Leave a Reply

