Meanwhile in Minnesota, and Other News

Tomorrow, our daughter, Emily, has a tonsillectomy…in Minnesota.

I’ll be in Cuenca.

I was with her when she had surgery on her kidney as a 2-year-old, and have been with her through every other health problem.

It is torture to not be by her side for this one.

Jodi and Emily Pic 045
Emily and me

 

 

Expat living has a downside, and this is a big one. Please say a prayer for her and her doctors. I know a tonsillectomy is no big deal, but it is for me…

Love YOU, Emily! I’ll be with you in spirit and praying all day! Looking forward to seeing your sweet face on video chat later tomorrow. 

It’s almost gone!

Our home in Minnesota has a purchase agreement on it, with a closing date of 5/13. My husband, Rich, is not only Emily’s nurse for the next week or so, he’s actively liquidating our “stuff” and planning storage for the rest. He’ll be joining me, for at least awhile, once the dust settles and he’s officially homeless. Looking forward to seeing you, Rich!

That one other thing that consumes me

While here, I’ve been exploring the digital nomad life (that’s a newfangled way of saying working remotely…very remotely).

My latest big project has been writing fundraising material for a campaign to feed some of the most hungry and needy children in Cuenca.

Only one piece will have my name on it.

On Monday it was posted on the organization’s Facebook page and has, so far, been shared 11 times and liked 137 times (!).  I’m stunned and yet excited, as maybe it will help these children. You’ll find it at:

Until You Raise Your Eyes, You Will Think You Are the Highest Point

or at: http://heartsofgoldfoundation.org/4609-2/

_DSC4261
L to R: El Arenal staff member, a graduate’s mother, Colleen, me, an El Arenal staff member.  Photo by Geoff Odell, geofotostudio.com

Oh, and the campaign, Full Bellies, Dreams of Hope & You, launched today. Please consider a gift, any gift.

Really, any gift.

Eighty-four desperate kids in Cuenca thank you for giving them a chance. So do I.

lunch

Please? :)  https://www.generosity.com/community-fundraising/full-bellies-dreams-of-hope-you Thank you!

Girlfriends, are you sitting down?

And for you beautiful people who’ve made it all the way to the end…today I had one of the best haircuts I’ve ever had, along with a brow and ‘stash wax. $15 total. 

20160413_153926

 

5 thoughts on “Meanwhile in Minnesota, and Other News

  1. Dear Jodi. Thanks for the update. Will say a prayer for a safe surgery for Emily and an easy house sale for Rich. I love your haircut! Very stylish. I will visit the FB page you mentioned. Take care and may you continue to be blessed in many ways. Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment, Sue. Great to hear from you! Appreciate your prayers and your visit to the article. Thanks for the haircut compliment too. You’re so sweet! :) Blessings to you, my dear.

      Like

  2. So many wonderful God inspired things happening in your life. Keep seeking His lead.

    Thankfully, Em is done with her tonsillectomy. I’m so thankful everything went very well. Now the recovery!! I am leaving it up to how she is feeling as to when I visit her. She is such a trooper! Prayers for her recovery continue.
    Now last but not least……Love the haircut. She/he did a fantastic job. ( although I did miss seeing your lovely face). Miss you lots!! love & big hugs, Mom

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

