And then came Kyle

First off, thanks for the prayers. Our daughter, Emily, is recovering nicely from a tonsillectomy. I guess the most painful part is ahead, so please keep praying. Thank you!

As promised, and long overdue, I’m blogging about a visitor. Yep, I’ve had a house guest.

On St Patrick’s Day he arrived, hungry and weary….

A shower and a ham and cheese sandwich brought a smile. 20160317_201358Kyle Hilding, a fellow Gustie and a dear friend’s nephew, teaches English at a Quito university. He had a week to kill and wanted to see Cuenca. I was pining for company. It was perfect.

Outings happened, like a guided trek in Cajas National Park. It’s crazy, but not once did I feel like a bull fighter on the Toreadora Trail.

At 14,000 feet with a high level of difficulty and mud everywhere, I found myself, after landing on my backside more than once, quoting scripture, and singing songs that mention angels.

I almost quit, but then realized they’d have to airlift me out.

Kyle’s smile never faded as he skipped through the three hour ordeal.

20160319_111622_HDR
Thick fog blocked beautiful views, I’m sure…

 

Museum visits, hot springs soaking, musical performances, and many moments around restaurant tables gave us time to hang out, get to know one another, and enjoy this great city.

I hope Kyle visits again and soon. Being with him reminds me that God’s busy blessing the world through some very special young people.

More pics of his week with me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Videos of some of the great music we enjoyed
Cuenca Orchestra
Playing Rossini:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKRZV3cL32k

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4EJb20MfUE
Playing Sibelius (violinist: Aisha Syed Castro)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3I7aQB2GuSQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w05kEcjlrEI
Jazz Society Cafe
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7P16ynS6v14
Cuenca University Orchestra (flautist: Jamil Erazo)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hj4KjohUKdM

 

3 thoughts on “And then came Kyle

  1. Thanks for the wonderful slide show & interesting stories of your time with Kyle. It’s so awesome you two could connect & share great moments!!

    On a much sadder note, it is so heartbreaking to hear the plight of the Ecuadorians after the devastating earthquake. So much to deal with for these people,as you said,who have been working so hard to improve their country. Prayers are ongoing for all who are dealing with such heartbreak.

    I praise God many times a day that He kept You, Kyle & Estaban safe. Take care Jodi!
    I love & Miss You So Much!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

